Palestinian poet Mosab Abu Toha and family have left Gaza after being stopped last month by IDF, source says

Palestinian poet and writer Mosab Abu Toha and his family have been able to leave Gaza after being detained and released last month by the Israel Defense Forces when trying to leave the enclave in the south,

a source close to the family told CNN on Saturday.

A photo of Mosab Abu Toha from City Lights Publishers, who published his debut book of poems, "Things You May Find Hidden in My Ear."

A photo of Mosab Abu Toha from City Lights Publishers, who published his debut book of poems, “Things You May Find Hidden in My Ear.” From City Lights Publishers

The source said Abu Toha crossed at Rafah into Egypt.

Abu Toha was taken into custody by the IDF “when he reached the checkpoint while leaving from the north to the south” Gaza on November 20, his brother said on Facebook last month. Abu Toha was released the following day, the IDF announced.

Following his release by the IDF, Abu Toha posted on X, formerly Twitter, that he was safe but alleged he was mistreated.

“I’m safe but still have pain in nose and teeth after being beaten by Israeli army. I gave them all my family’s passports, including my American son’s but they didn’t return anything. Also my clothes & my children’s were taken and not returned to me. No wallet, money, credit card,” he posted. 

CNN has asked the IDF for comment about Abu Toha’s allegations.

Abu Toha had been contributing to The New Yorker and other publications with reflections on his life inside Gaza during the war.

Source: Jake Tapper